You are here: Courts & Law Enforcement > 3B District Court > Criminal Division
Contact Information:
  • MAILING ADDRESS:
  • PO Box 67
  • Centreville MI, 49032

  • OFFICE LOCATION:
  • 3B District Court
  • 125 W. Main St.
  • Centreville MI, 49032
  • Courts Building-Main Floor
  • 3B District Court Probation
  • Courts Building-Lower Level
  • PHONE NUMBERS:
  • Criminal Division: (269) 467-5585
  • Traffic Division: (269) 467-5503
  • Probation Division: (269) 467-5541
  • Civil Division: (269) 467-5505
  • General: (269) 467-5627
  • Fax: (269) 467-5611

Criminal Division

The 3B District Court has jurisdiction of all misdemeanors committed in St. Joseph County by anyone 17 years old or older. This includes all cities, townships and villages within St. Joseph County. Cases handled in this division include major traffic and misdemeanor offenses, liquor, conservation, watercraft, and animal violations. Most of these violations require a personal appearance before a Judge or Magistrate.

Limited Jurisdiction for Felonies

The 3B District Court has jurisdiction to conduct an arraignment and a preliminary examination over all felonies committed in St. Joseph County by anyone 17 years old or older. A preliminary examination is held to establish probable cause that a felony was committed and probable cause to believe that the defendant committed the felony.

Day Reporting Center (DRC)

The Day Reporting Center is a branch of the Twin County Community Probation Center located in Three Rivers, Michigan. This center works in conjunction with the local courts as a testing facility for alcohol and illegal drug use for offenders who have been placed on probation with the courts, or for those persons recently posting bail on certain types of criminal cases where testing has been ordered as part of the conditional release.

  • The DRC’s main office is located at 210 South Main Street in Three Rivers, Michigan, 49093 and is typically open Monday through Friday; Business days and hours will vary. Telephone (269)-279-9592.
  • The DRC’s satellite office is located at 307 W. Chicago Road Suite 270 in Sturgis, Michigan, 49091. Business days and hours will vary. Telephone (269)-467-1001 extension 370.
  • The DRC offices are closed between 12:00 PM and 1:00 PM daily.
  • If there are any testing conditions placed on a person, they should contact the DRC main office at (269)-279-9592 between 9 am and 4 pm on the next business day Monday – Friday after release or as ordered by the court.
  • Day Reporting Center Information (PDF)

Your Basic Rights

  1. If you require special accommodations to use the court because of disabilities or if you require a foreign language interpreter to help you fully participate in court proceedings, please contact the court immediately to make arrangements.
  2. You have been brought to court on a misdemeanor charge. You have the following basic rights:
    a. To plead guilty or not guilty or to stand mute. If you stand mute, a plea of not guilty will be entered. You may plead no contest with the permission of the court.
    b. To have a trial by jury.
    c. To have the assistance of an attorney.
  3. You have the right to an attorney appointed at public expense if you are indigent (without money to hire an attorney) and if
    a. the offense charged requires a minimum jail sentence, or
    b. the court determines that it might sentence you to jail.
  4. You may have to repay the expense of a court-appointed attorney.
  5. If you have a trial, you have the following rights:
    a. To call witnesses to speak for you at trial. You may get an order signed by the court to require witnesses to come to court.
    b. To see, hear, and question all witnesses against you at trial.
    c. To be a witness for yourself or to remain silent. If you choose not to be a witness on your own behalf, the prosecuting official may not comment on your refusal to testify.
    d. To be presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.
  6. If you plead guilty or no contest and your plea is accepted, you will not have a trial of any kind and will give up the rights listed in items 3 and 5 above.
  7. You have the right to be released on bond.
  8. If you are now on probation or parole and you enter a plea of guilty (or no contest) or a finding of guilt is made by judge or jury, it may result in a violation of your probation or parole.
  9. You can be sentenced up to 93 days in jail or fined up to $500 plus costs, or both unless otherwise advised by the court. (The court will advise you if there is a minimum jail sentence.)
  10. Fines, costs, and other financial obligations imposed by the court must be paid at the time of assessment pursuant to MCR 1.110.
  11. An appeal to circuit court may be taken within 21 days from date of sentence or as permitted pursuant to MCR 6.625(B). If the sentence includes incarceration and if you wish to file an appeal but are financially unable to retain a lawyer, the court will appoint a lawyer to represent you on appeal, if the request for a lawyer is made within 14 days after sentencing.
  12. Federal law and/or state law may prohibit you from possessing or purchasing ammunition or a firearm (including a rifle, pistol or revolver) if you are convicted of a misdemeanor crime of violence and you are a current or former spouse, parent, or guardian of the victim; you share a child in common with the victim; you are or were cohabitation with the victim as a spouse, parent, or guardian; or you are or were involved with the victim in another, similar relationship.

Click here to print a copy of your rights.

Click here for an index of advice of rights forms in several different languages.

Bail - Bond & Conditional Release

Release on personal recognizance or cash bail must be determined for all persons charged with misdemeanors. In some cases the law enforcement agency may set an interim bail. If this interim bail is posted, then the individual will be given a court date and time that they must next appear before the court. When bail is established by the court, the defendant’s next court dates and times for those appearances will be given to the defendant.

Release on personal recognizance, money bail or no release on bail for persons charged with a felony will be determined by the court based on a multitude of factors the court must consider in each case.

The bail may contain conditions that apply to the bail being set by the court. Such conditions may include any of the following or any other conditions the court feels appropriate for the safe release of the defendant and society also. This is not an all inclusive list that the court may impose.

  • Make report to a court or agency, as specified by the court or the agency
  • Not use alcohol or illicitly use any controlled substance
  • Participate in a substance abuse testing or monitoring program
  • Participate in a specified treatment program for any physical or mental conditions, including substance abuse
  • Comply with restrictions on personal associations, place of residence, place of employment or travel.
  • Surrender driver’s license, passport, or concealed weapons permits
  • Comply with a specific curfew
  • Continue to seek employment
  • Continue or begin an educational program
  • Remain in the custody of a responsible member of the community who agrees to monitor the defendant and report any violation of any release conditions to the court.
  • Not possess a firearm or other dangerous weapons
  • Not enter specified premises or areas and not assault, beat, molest, or wound a named person or persons.
  • Satisfy an injunctive order made a conditions of release, or
  • Comply with any other condition, including the requirement of money bail described in MCR 6.106(E), reasonably necessary to ensure the defendant’s appearance as required and the safety of the public.

If the court orders a bond with conditions that are determined to be reasonably necessary for the protection of any named person(s), the order shall be entered into the LEIN system.

Should the court order testing for alcohol or illicit controlled substances the defendant may be ordered to appear at the Day Reporting Center which is located at 210 S. Main Street in Three Rivers, Michigan. Failure to report as ordered may result in a bench warrant for the defendant. Failing the testing itself may carry sanctions such as mandatory incarceration for a predetermined amount of time back at the St. Joseph County Sheriff’s Department, or the court may order a hearing for violation of the bond conditions before one of the District Judges. These conditional releases will be addressed with each defendant during the bail /bond setting process and or arraignments by the court.

Driver Responsibility Fees

The State of Michigan now requires that drivers convicted of certain moving violations pay to the Department of Treasury a special fee assessed by the Secretary of State.

The fees are over and above any fines, costs or fees charged by the Court.

The fees, called “Driver Responsibility Fees”, must be paid each year for two consecutive years. If the fees are not paid within 60 days after notice is given, the Secretary of State will suspend the driver’s license. A reinstatement fee of $125 would be required after such a suspension.

SOME EXAMPLES OF VIOLATIONS COVERED BY THIS LAW ARE: (For a complete listing go to www.michigan.gov/driverresponsibility)

 
Driving While Suspended
$500 for 2 years
Reckless Driving
$500 for 2 years
Operate While Intoxicated
$1000 for 2 years
Operate While Impaired
$500 for 2 years
Operate with Presence of Drugs
$500 for 2 years
Fail to Stop After Personal Injury Accident
$1000 for 2 years
Fail to Stop After Property Damage Acc.
$1000 for 2 years
Under 21 Yrs. Old Operate with Alcohol
$500 for 2 years
Operate Under Influence of Drugs
$1000 for 2 years